Honda TRX700XX Forum - Club700XX banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at the following tyres and would like members input on there suitability as it is one area I'm not experienced in.

2x RAZR BLADE M506 - Rear 20-11-10
2x RAZR BLADE M506 - Front 21-7-10

Here in the UK we have an annual event called the Weston Beach Race. As the name suggests it is on a beach. The first straight along the water edge is 1 mile long and very flat and very fast. Then the track weeves it's way back over man made dunes and whoops (basically big heaps of sand built by machines) back to the beginning. I originally bought the 700xx for this race mainly because of it's ground clearance. The corners go very deep rutted and the low 450's struggle getting stuck and jamming chains as they try to cut through the wet sand. Yes the sand is wet almost like mud in places and probably a lot different to the sand in your dunes.
About 6-700 people start the 3hr endurance race with only about half of them finishing. Quads of all shapes and sizes incuding 4x4 join in the race which is a spectacular event either to be in or to watch.
I am aiming at winning this years event and I am building the quad to do it. The rest as they say is down to me and a lot of luck!

Back to the tyres, I'm a little worried whether they are suitable for riding flat out down the straight as I haven't experience riding on them. Last year I used the SNOW4 which were good but there is no 10"!

Any thoughts and comments please, good or bad!

·
Registered
133 Posts
If you like the SNOW4, have you checked the AMS Zippers?? They are the same tire but come in a 10". The Zippers and SNOW4's are apparently everybody's best picks for Sand dragging from what I hear.

·
Registered
375 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
You googled it, I still don't see any pics of it on his quad. :p