Honda TRX700XX Forum - Club700XX banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had this noise in my first engine. It caused me to take it in and ask the dealer what it was. They said i needed a new engine. It ran fine but they'd already torn it down so this time, i'm asking you guys. This is the "new" engine. This engine probably has a total of 50 hours on it. Maybe. WTF IS THIS NOISE!?!?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eornhA7jJZs

·
Registered
2,171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That is the engine's way of telling you that you ride like a girl. ;)
I'm pretty sure its the engines way of telling me, she'd rather be ridden like a girl instead!

·
Premium Member
1,073 Posts
It almost sounded like an exhaust leak, that's a pretty loud noise too.

·
Registered
268 Posts
If you ended up with the same noise in the new engine then it probably was never the engine at all and the dealership just wanted money. It sounds exhaust related to me but I'm no expert.

·
Registered
2,525 Posts
There is a copper crush gasket in between the header pipe and the exhaust port of the head. It sounds like it's missing or they used the old one. It should be replaced ever time you take the exhaust off the XX. I would check that first, it cost 5.00$

·
Premium Member
4,835 Posts
There is a copper crush gasket in between the header pipe and the exhaust port of the head. It sounds like it's missing or they used the old one. It should be replaced ever time you take the exhaust off the XX. I would check that first, it cost 5.00$
I am with Jody on this one, thats what I would check first.

·
Registered
2,293 Posts
ive reused the crush gasket a couple of times with no leaks check your bolts to see if there torqued right and check where muffler slips on to header the noise seemed to quit when you revved it up a little i think its something else than the exhaust ive been around a bunch of different xxs and never heard anything like that come from any of them

·