My boys first day riding...Ouch! He rolled it! - Club700XX - Honda TRX700XX Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 03-07-2010, 12:41 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My boys first day riding...Ouch! He rolled it!

So I'm a total newb for off-roading. I also got my 7 1/2 year old son a 2003 Predator 90. It's a 2 stroke and does probably 20-25 mph. Well today we went out into the desert on a dirt road, very straight with some small bumps. Long story short. He got squirrely and over corrected at WOT and flipped sideways. Luckily 1/2 hour prior I got him a roost protector, real good knee/shin guards and some good gloves. All Fox racing gear. SAVED HIS ASS and mine. He really took a major spill at thirty mph with the quad onto a hard packed dirt road and besides scrapes on his abdomen and calf along with a few tears he's fine. The steering stem is bent and the plastic took some damage with a broken mount. He is fine though thanks to full protection. I'm actually online ordering him some boots, elbow pads and a neck roll now.
The one thing good, he's learned to respect the machine. Before he just didn't comprehend safe riding and riding ability. Now he doesn't want to go fast. I'm sure he will again but hopefully it will be when he has some experience and skill.