My 700xx isn't a virgin anymore! - Club700XX - Honda TRX700XX Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 04-11-2011, 10:23 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My 700xx isn't a virgin anymore!

I've had my 700xx for about a month and a half now, and this past weekend I was finally able to get it out on some trails (Ballinger Canyon OHV, Ca) and experience all this hype I keep reading about and... OMFG!!! I damn near needed to put on a rubber while riding. I've been riding sport quads for nearly 15 years (300ex and 400ex) on south eastern Ohio trails (woods and hills, gets technical at times). My Dad bought the 300ex in 1993 and when I was ten in 1995, I started riding it and eventually bought it off him. The 300ex is 18yrs old and it sits on the trailer next to the 700xx now, so Honda has proven to me they can build some reliable toys. It has been flipped and rolled more times than I can count, and still runs and looks awesome. This was my first time at Ballinger too so I didn't know what kind of trails to expect or how I will like IRS and the 150 extra pounds of bike. About one minute into my ride, I was on cloud nine! The suspension is awesome! The trails were anything but smooth, I was in 2nd or 3rd gear the entire time. But I was laughing at how much of the whoops and bumps were being soaked up by the suspension. On my 300ex, I would have been tossed left and right as well as up and down. The 700xx, it was dead on straight soaking up all the bumps. And the power, omg the power I haven't done the big 3, but understand that I came from a 300ex (full exhaust, rev lim, re-jet, air filter, 13t sprocket). The power was smooth and instant, when ever a whoop came up, just a small blip of the throttle and up comes front wheels to clear it, no effort. Now, I am pretty sore two laters, but that's just bc it's been 8-9 months since I last rode and I was chasing 3 dirt bikes (two 450's and one 250 two s