Is a stage 3 HotCam worth it without other engine work? If so, How to? - Club700XX - Honda TRX700XX Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 01-10-2019, 01:38 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Is a stage 3 HotCam worth it without other engine work? If so, How to?

My exact Mods are as followed:

Full HMF Performance Full Exhaust
UNI Foam filter
No lid
13T front sprocket
5/8 Sway bar
Steering Damper

Without any other mods to the engine, is a stage 3 cam worth doing? will i see a decent bump in Power? Speed? how much?

I ride a lot in sand, but also do a lot of tight technical trails. I've read a stage 2 is a waste of time and you might as well do a stage 3? is this true?

I do not want to lose any reliability, Or low end power.

From what ive read its a fairly simple job, however i have zero experience in it.

I just adjusted my valves, and it is now running better than ever, how much further do you have to tear down to swap out the cam? How do i get the timing chain on and off and make sure that i get it back on corerctly. Im completely new at this so any help would be great.

Thanks so much.

Last edited by kyleking777; 01-10-2019 at 01:42 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 01-10-2019, 07:34 PM

Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleking777 View Post

UNI Foam filter
No lid
13T front sprocket
5/8 Sway bar
Steering Damper

Without any other mods to the engine, is a stage 3 cam worth doing? will i see a decent bump in Power? Speed? how much?

I ride a lot in sand, but also do a lot of tight technical trails. I've read a stage 2 is a waste of time and you might as well do a stage 3? is this true?

From what ive read its a fairly simple job, however i have zero experience in it.