Running to rich, ECU needing tuned??? - Club700XX - Honda TRX700XX Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 12-19-2011, 05:25 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Running to rich, ECU needing tuned???

Hello all. New to the forum. 08' XX, Lexx MX-E slip-on, all stock otherwise.

Anyway, I have an issue that occurred today that I cannot put my finger on.
I just installed a LEXX MXe slip-on. I ran it all day yesterday with the silencer installed, no issues. It seems to be running rich, not lean, as I get occasional flames out the tip if revving it, letting off, and going WOT with the silencer out. Rode it most of the day today with the open tip, no issues. So I started playing drift king on a circle section of my play track across the yard from my house, and as I was coming out of a high-G slide, it dies. Figured I was low on fuel in the ON position, so I switched it to reserve. Attempted to start it, backfires, blue flames. Crank again, it starts and idles for a sec, then dies again. I repeat this process for about 2 minutes until I decided not to kill the battery. Pulled it with another ATV to my house, put the silencer back in. Starts and idles, has hesitation on initial throttle input, and then revs fine. Reset the ECU, same issue. No CEL, nothing. The only other thing I can think of is putting a new plug in it, which doesn't seem likely. Or a clogged fuel filter. Or the fact that my dumb ass poured a half tank of 87 octane in because I didn't feel like going to the fuel station before going riding (it was half full of 93, so it was more like 89 octane afterward). Does anyone have any idea what will resolve this, other than me buying a power commander or installing the stock pipe?? Thanks a mil if anyone has an answer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-19-2011, 05:55 PM