Rear shock brainstorming - Club700XX - Honda TRX700XX Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 51 Old 12-26-2012, 06:22 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Rear shock brainstorming

This is my first forum post (anywhere), but have had my 2008 Trx700xx for about 2 years now. I love this Quad for the eastern ohio trails and hills... except for the glaring issue of suspension. The DS450x front upgrade is a no-brainer and definately part of this winter's project list, along with custom four leaf clover rim reinforcement rings, and home-made grab-bar/trunk combo.
The last big problems for me (a rotund 215 with gear) are the rear shocks, they can be outright painful.

I am a mechanical engineer, my father is a tool and die maker with 30 years of experience, and one of my best friends is a SME certified pressure vessel welder. So I think I can find something that will work. And I flat refuse to pay $800 for stage one suspension kits when I can get 4" of lift under an F250 superduty for the same price.

That said I am torn between attempting two options:

1) A pair of DS450 rear shocks (~$160):
Pro's - no modification of stock mounts since the 2 inches should give me room to make the mods/brackets and hold stock length; full rebound and compression adjusments
Con's - may need to buy springs if the XX's won't fit and stockers are too soft/hard; yellow springs!!; Possible loss of suspension travel

2) A pair of YFZ450 (04-09) rear shocks (~$100):
Pro's - Silver/White springs; nearly identical travel and length; should allow use of XX springs; Full adjustment capability; cheaper; better availability
Con's - Will most likey require cutting on the bike since there is no room to build brackets without changing geometry

I am leaning toward the YFZ's, but worry about cutting on the stock brackets.

Anybody have thoughts on what I should try (doesn't have to be from the two listed I am up for anything)?